PDA

View Full Version : Bucket dragging?

724fishin
08-22-2005, 11:19 AM
I have a question.

I have a new family "play" boat and the slowest it will run at is about 2.5 kts. I would like to do some trolling from the boat and I know that is too fast. Seeing as how it is a family play boat I am sure I am going to have to be a bucket dragger. It is something I have never done before and am looking for suggestions on how to do it. Round bucket, square bucket, holes in bucket, swivel, etc. Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks,
724fishin

SuperDave
08-22-2005, 11:31 AM
724, it is a matter of opinion whether 2.5 is too fast. My last boat wast probably right around 2.5 at idle and I caught a lot of fish doing laps around the guys going 1 to 1.5. BUT, I feel your pain! I always wanted to be going slower if I could. I'm, personally, an anti bucket guy as I have too many vivid images of fish tangling in the rope. No consideration for trolling plate?

fresnofshfan
08-22-2005, 11:31 AM
Ahh the good ol okie trolling plate ;D
I just got a Happy troller and couldnt be happier. I got one for 25$ from Craigs list. If the trolling plate isnt the way you want to go try this...

My boat has a ring on the port & starboard side at the bow for dock lines ect. I picked up two 3 gal(aprox) buckets drilled one nice hole in each and tied them to the bow rings with about 2ft of line. Just enough so the bucket is submerged. I had the dragging near the middle and rear but thats too much to get tangled. Just my .02

FFF

Fishmeister
08-22-2005, 12:49 PM
Drug a bucket for many years until I broke down and got an electric.