PDA

View Full Version : What does "pulls" mean?

Wishnbfishn
07-16-2005, 10:18 AM
Can someone explain the term "pulls" as it refers to trolling? I am a newbie to trolling for trout.

Thanks!

Wishn

Steve_M
07-16-2005, 10:34 AM
Pull = 1 arm length pull from reel.

FreshwaterFrank
07-16-2005, 10:44 AM
When you let out your line, you count the # of manual "pulls" you make, rather than just free-spooling & maybe tangling up your gear as it goes out uncontrolled. With my trout rigs, 1 pull is about 1 foot. For kokes I'll let out 40-50 pulls, then attach to DR release. Somewhat inexact, but you'll get the same relative distance every time, instead of just guessing. It's old school fishing stuff from before line-counters etc.

FISHSTALKER
07-16-2005, 10:51 AM
One pull of line usually equals 3'. In the old days of deep sea fishing (before depth finders, downriggers and line counting reels,etc.) It was the way to know your depth where you caught fish. Knowing the footage depth you could get back down to where you were catching the fish at.
This method is also used for knowing the lures trolled distance behind the boat.
A faster method for trolling is releasing the reel spool with your thumb when your rod tip is at the back of the boat and swinging the rod even with you at the side of the boat. The line release would then add up to approximately 6'. This method cuts the amount of total release time in half or faster with less effort.

SierraSkier
07-16-2005, 02:14 PM
You can buy a line counter that fits on your rod for about $13 and they work great. *Scary because I drive a car, but I never can keep track of the pulls I have made.

johnbfishin
07-16-2005, 02:17 PM
When I use my spinning reel for trolling I flip the lever on the reel so it will go backwards and slowly let out line while underway. I figure 1.5 feet per turn of the handle but this depends on the size of the reel and the ratio.

Rusty_Hooks
07-16-2005, 02:37 PM