PDA

View Full Version : How to cook Shad?

addicted2Daiwa
04-17-2010, 04:47 PM
okay this is the first time ever I actually kept a couple of shad but I'm not experienced at cooking the bony fishes since I eat a majority of planter trout and panfish species with an occasional striper:lobster:, so the question is... How do you cook these guys? The crockpot technique worked but the fish taste AWFULLY plain!:confused::confused::confused: I tried smoking a couple but it doesn't seem to help the taste. Anybody got a recipe I can use? I know the asian folks and eastern americans love these guys but I everytime I attempt to cook these guys, it turns out to be an epic fail. Help?:oregonian_winesmile

Bigg A
04-18-2010, 12:47 PM
I slow bake them for 5-6 hours laying bacon strips across the pieces I filet. I set the temp at 225 degrees and the only seasoning I use is black pepper and a little garlic salt. Place fish in a pan and cover tightly with aluminum foil. I enjoy the oily meat of shad so I dont over season there meat. After its done, I eat it over a bowl of rice. Now since thats squared away, how about showing a fellow sniffer the technique of fishing the AR.

CrappieJed
04-18-2010, 07:32 PM
I slow bake them for 5-6 hours laying bacon strips across the pieces I fillet. I set the temp at 225 degrees and the only seasoning I use is black pepper and a little garlic salt. Place fish in a pan and cover tightly with aluminum foil. I enjoy the oily meat of shad so I dint over season there meat. After its done, I eat it over a bowl of rice. Now since thats squared away, how about showing a fellow sniffer the technique of fishing the AR.
BA you wont eat a beer battered spotted bass white flaky fillet but you will eat a shad :yikes:

CrappieJed
04-18-2010, 07:34 PM
i couldn't resist......lol i like shad too, heck i will eat anything that wont eat me first :turkycut1:

Bigg A
04-18-2010, 08:44 PM