PDA

View Full Version : Reading the water for shad?

buzzr75
05-07-2010, 12:00 PM
I'm a total newb at shad fishing -- how do you guys read the water to know where to cast? Do you just have to comb the whole river or is there a way to narrow it down a bit? Thanks for any advice! (some good tips in the 010 post too -- thx) :help:

I've heard/read they usually stay close to the banks to avoid the current? Do they park in slack water/pools/breaks or ignore that and run up the middle power off tackle?

Bigg A
05-07-2010, 12:52 PM
Honestly.... the best way to learn is to go out and fish for them. I learned from watching people at freeport years ago. I myself cant say what they do because everyday seems to be a little different with these fish. Some days they are close in and other days they are far out. You just gotta go out and find the track there on for that particular day. Try miller park and discovery and just kick back and watch....you'll see most people just cast out and retrieve waiting for a shad to hit. Retrieval speed plays a part also....sometimes people reel to fast or to slow, you gotta switch it up every now and then to see what they like. Also have a good assortment of colors, they will be hitting like crazy and sometimes just completely stop and people think they are gone but a switch in color will keep you on fish.

LILALILFA
05-10-2010, 11:35 AM
just go out @ dusk or dawn & watch em jump!!!

going4broke1981
05-10-2010, 04:24 PM