PDA

View Full Version : What kind of dough or dip bait works for you?

Shark bait
07-07-2010, 12:05 PM
I have never used any type of dough or dip bait for catfish because i have always used clams BTW i fish the delta for cats. Any recommendations? Thanks

ioski65
07-07-2010, 02:24 PM
Newbie here, so don't know how kosher this is because this is a link to another fishing forum but here's an article by a friend of a friend about dough balls and catching carp, catfish, etc....

http://www.imhooked.com/cmsnav/magazineindexDetail.php?Fishing-with-Explosives-Using-the-Bread-Bomb-to-Catch-Carp-and-Other-Species-17

BIG_ONE
07-07-2010, 02:58 PM
Crawdad will beat every single catfish bait you want to think of. But if your talking about dough personally, I like G&S Cheese. They have a strong smell indeed, but it works great for me!
:ts6rp:

Bigg A
07-07-2010, 03:33 PM
G&S, secret 7 and danny kings punch bait are top producers for me when I want a quick bite.

knotgillty
07-07-2010, 04:04 PM
Crawdad will beat every single catfish bait you want to think of.

I'm not so sure there is a single best cat bait. By the way, cutbait outfished my partners crawdads by a 10 to 1 margin on a recent trip. We landed 20 cats in the 5 to 12 pound range last week, but only two came on crawdads. You can find the report elsewhere in this forum.

Anyway, my vote goes for the Secret 7 dough/stink bait. Worked well for me a few summers back when I used a tub of it.

Shark bait
07-07-2010, 04:42 PM
Thanks a lot guys I'll look into that secret 7 dough bait.

N.O Xpl()de
07-07-2010, 07:38 PM
I have never use dip bait before. So say if my bait of choice is shrimp for catfish. i just dip the bait in secret 7 and cast it out or do I need a dip tube as well?

Bigg A
07-07-2010, 10:29 PM
It wouldnt hurt to try it but if you order the 7 u might as well get the tubes for it. Never have too much luck with shrimp for cats unless I take my son to the stocked ponds.

Bigg A
07-07-2010, 10:32 PM