PDA

View Full Version : What's the Craziest Lure or Bait You've Seen Catch a Trout?

TroutGhost
04-18-2011, 11:52 PM
My dad is a total newb at fishing. I don't know how one can fish for forty years and still not have a clue but there it is, that's the situation.

So we're on the lake and he's getting frustrated at the multiple short strikes and says he wants to sweeten the lure with some worms. I say, no worms but I have some procure scent. He's rolling his eyes. So I say, well... I got some cough-cough-salmon-eggs-cough-cough. His eyes light up.

He grabs the salmon eggs and plugs up every tine of the treble hooks with one or two salmon eggs. That's about ten or so salmon eggs on this bitty little 2-inch lure. He held it aloft, proud of his creation. :smiley_crazy:

I know that sweetening a lure with a bit of worm can increase the hook up rate on an inline spinner, spoon, etc. But man, this dingleberry-rig looked ridiculous. The red egg clusters were thicker than the lure itself. It was sure to ruin the lure's swimming action. I don't know how I kept a straight face. I'm thinking, whatever... he'll learn his lesson the hard way.

So he tosses it out and not a minute passes and BAM, he's got a rainbow trout tail dancing on the water. I'm like, geez... that's a door I didn't want opened. But what could I say? His crazy dingleberry-rig caught a trout. :tongue:

What are some of the zaniest rigs you have seen catch a trout?

Marv
04-19-2011, 12:04 AM
Lol, I knew when I started reading he was gonna catch a fish.
I have told my kids or a friend "what are you doing, thats not gonna work, told yo.... blam I got a fish I got a fish. Then they say I thought you were a fisherman you said it wouldn't work.

SuckerPunch
04-19-2011, 06:36 AM
I've had trout eat plastics and spinnerbaits while fishing for bass and had 'em eat mackerel while fishing for channels - these were all wild fish.

Jfitalia
04-19-2011, 06:54 AM