PDA

View Full Version : First time trout fishing, need some help...

jackelmyer
06-29-2011, 02:26 PM
So next week I'm taking the family for our first REAL camping trip out at Pillsbury Lake. I've heard Trout fishing is the way to go there.

Well here, my main thing is this, I want my 5 year old and 8 year old to have fun fishing. I'm still relatively new to fishing in general. Only been out by my self for the past 1.5 years hunting down Catfish and Striped Bass. So trout... a whole different thing for me. The Bass out there is a whole different thing for me as well.

But back to my boys. Pillsbury Lake has a Dock to fish from. I'm excited because I can have my boys just drop their lines into the water. No throwing and hooking them selves or me! I'm assuming the structure of the dock is going to naturally attract fish of all types. I'm hoping a nice peacefull trout is one of them.

I'v read all over the web and I'm still not to sure about how to fish for them this time of year. Do I use a bottom rig with Powerbait or a worm? both? Do I need a bobber for my boys? I'm sure they'd like to bobber fish, but I don't know if I can at the depths I hear Trout will be at this time of year.

Basically, I need help! Tips! Ma boys are counting on me and, fellow Fish Sniffers, i'm counting on you! ;-p

Seriously, any tips guides, etc, is greatly appriciated!

lamar2626
06-29-2011, 02:52 PM
usually at this time of year the trout are in deeper waters. use a sliding egg weight right with a hook about 3 or 4 feet from your swivel. Garclic scent power baits seem to work the best for me. Also you can try the slow sinking bobber idea which allows you to cover basically all depths. You put the bobber on your line full of water and cast it out and it slowly sinks down to the bottom. Id try the sliding egg weight setup the most though.

TroutGhost
06-29-2011, 03:53 PM