PDA

View Full Version : how to tell a halibut's bit?

Ben510le
04-10-2007, 09:04 PM
Is it like a stripper? is it like a sturgeon?
I am just starting to fish halibut and i have no idea how to tell if they are bitting
I have never caught a halibut so i have no experience
does anyone know?
Thank you

Ben510le
04-10-2007, 09:06 PM
O yea
What bait would u guys use?
I heard anchovies are good
thanks again

keciga1
04-10-2007, 09:18 PM
Are you fishing from shore or a boat? The bite would be your tipical fish bite, like catfish or striper.

Ivan

MB_Kevin
04-10-2007, 09:34 PM
Are you fishing from shore or a boat? The bite would be your tipical fish bite, like catfish or striper.

Ivan

Really, that is what I would think to but I heard once they bite light like a sturgeon. Little pulls but i have not gotten one here. I caught some in Alaska but was only 14.

gmdcdvm
04-10-2007, 09:50 PM
I'll tell you what I know, but I am sure others will chime in as well. If you have the rod in a rod holder then you aren't feeling for bites per say, but looking for them based on what your rod is doing.

If you are drifting an anchovie on a 3-way set up:
Normally your weight should be dragging along the bottom which puts the bait about 16 inches above the sand. You will notice your rod bouncing up and down from the waves and as the weight drags through the mud/algae, breaks free, and then starts dragging again.
When the halibut bites one of two things will happen: