PDA

View Full Version : Skunked in Bodega

Sacfisher
04-04-2007, 05:13 PM
Went fishin' from shore this weekend and not a d**n thing. We did get some Rock crab in the nets though and 1 dungeness. Tried fushing the surf along the bay but am not used to that kind of fishing or something cuz' i couldn't feel a bite even if I were getting one. Did see some grey whales out there though. I counted 5, 2 doubles and 1 single. Two of them were not more than 100 yards off of the beach, up and down the beach and around the jetti. Don't know if they would affect the surf perch fishing or not but maybe? Well there is my report. Don't read to much into it though cuz' I am just a novice saltwater fisherman.

tarbuckle
04-04-2007, 05:34 PM
Just like most things, there's a definate learning curve. Seeing the whales must have been cool. I've only seen the grays once and it was quite a sight.

dark_knight
04-04-2007, 07:45 PM
Doran is a fickle place to fish. Sometimes Ive seen people go out of thier limited and other times i ve seen people get skunked. We prolly should have told you to try poke pollin if you werent getting lucky. I ve seen a lot of people catch a few rock cod and other spieces. Hopefully youll do better next time your out their.

catfished
04-04-2007, 08:09 PM
I don't consider myself a novice but I have never caught any kind of fish at Bodega and I've never seen anyone else catch any either. I've fished Doran Beach, Doran Jetty, Tides Wharf and a couple of other spots in the bay for not even a bite. I have used shrimp, anchovies and squid as well as perch grubs to no avail. I'm not saying that no one catches fish there but it sure isn't a consistent producer.

Uncle_Sam
04-04-2007, 11:04 PM