PDA

View Full Version : New Rod

SOUTH_BAY_FISHER
03-15-2007, 09:32 AM
So I'm in the market for a new rod and reel for what I'll call big water fish basicaly I want a new set up that I can fish salmon, halibut, and stipers. I hope I'm not looking for too mush in a rod. I'm newly married with a kid on the way so I don't have a huge budget for this but probibly spend like $150-$200 for a rod and reel. My problem is i don't realy know what I need. I did mostly fresh water fishing growing up and a few guided salmon, butt and rock trips so I'm just getting into the salt and delta with verry little excperiance but I want something that will last a while and is a good pice of equipment. Every time i go to the store they are trying to sell me a rod that's $150 a g lomous (i can't spell) i belive, it looks and sound great but i don't belive I need to spend that much money altough I'm sure it's a great rod. I've heard a lot about Ugly sticks and the Cabelas rods on here I have a nice cabelas ultra light spining rod that is great quality so maybe that's something for me to look into. Just wondering what length, sensitivity (med/hvy), and line weight I should be looking for. From what I've read I belive I need a fiberglass rod, because i might be trolling, hauling lead for salmon, and have the possibility of hooking up with a sturegon. Please help me I'm totaly lost.

Hiking-Jay
03-15-2007, 09:52 AM
I think if you are looking for something that will last and will handle large fish and that is inexpensive, then you have described an Ugly Stik. Sure, the Cabelas Whuppin' Stick is cheaper, but in my opinion, you'll be more satisfied with an Ugly Stick in the long run.