PDA

View Full Version : Catfish tips?

rainbowkiller
06-27-2012, 11:17 PM
ok so anyone have good tips for me? I only know of frying catfish and most of the time they never taste as good as store bought so I have been catching and releasing them. How do you get rid of that lake taste I have read somewhere soaking in buttermilk but is there a certain length of time? I just cant get it down to where I can eat it with out wishing I caught something else....and I LOVE catfishing?

Duffel bag
06-28-2012, 01:40 AM
A couple of ideas, now please keep-in-mind that I am not an expert and that I am simply thinking out-loud and trying to help solve this dilemma.

You can completely cover up the unwanted flavor with spices...probably not what you

are looking for.

You can try to remove the unwanted flavor before cooking it, if the negative flavor is coming from the blood or another water-soluble part of the meat then you can possibly dilute that unwanted flavor to a tolerable level by soaking the filets in cold saltwater, just make sure to soak it for at-least a couple of days and keep it in the fridge. You will need to use a large volume of saltwater as compared to the volume of meat that you are soaking..lots of water/not so much meat.
If the unwanted flavor is coming from the fat of the fish then it will be much more difficult to remove, you might want to try adding some acid, such as vinegar to your saltwater solution. Vinegar is soluble in water and the acid may help to dissolve the fat...just guessing if this would help much...I would have to do some research to be certain.