Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 29
  1. #19
    Senior Member ReelJerks's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    1,999
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: New Lowrance Elite 9 Ti2 Installed with Two Transducers...Why?

    Any of the entry level aluminum boats, and some same level fiberglass boats really require the Stern Saver for proper and secure installation.
    The better built aluminum boats have thicker aluminum for a better bite, but still, the Stern Saver is the best way to go.

    Edd
    Pro Staff - MACK'S-SHASTA TACKLE CO
    Pro Staff - SCOTTY FISHING
    Pro Staff - SHARK TROLLING PRODUCTS
    Pro-Staff - WATER WOLF HD CAMERAS
    Ambassador - Pro-Cure Bait Scents




  2. #18
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Milpitas, CA
    Posts
    97
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: New Lowrance Elite 9 Ti2 Installed with Two Transducers...Why?

    Especially when Lund’s have a history of problematic transoms.
    Yep....I'd take those transducers off and put fill those holes with 3M 5200 and put a transom saver or seaboard and remount those transducers.
    Last edited by Hookem2004; 02-12-2019 at 01:31 PM.

  3. #17
    Senior Member Polebrother's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Brentwood
    Posts
    1,517
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: New Lowrance Elite 9 Ti2 Installed with Two Transducers...Why?

    Agree with you 100% including the transom saver. Especially when Lund’s have a history of problematic transoms.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

    In fishing, I throw myself away and find myself again and again.

  4. #16
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Milpitas, CA
    Posts
    97
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: New Lowrance Elite 9 Ti2 Installed with Two Transducers...Why?

    I can't believe they didn't use a transom saver as well in case the transducers needed to be moved or replaced in the future.

    I think they should have just used the one 3 in 1 transducer.

    I just bought the 9" Ti-2 and the dealer is only mounting one transducer on the boat.

  5. #15
    Senior Member ReelJerks's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    1,999
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: New Lowrance Elite 9 Ti2 Installed with Two Transducers...Why?

    Yes that is also a possibility. My ref list is not up to date yet.

    Edd
    Pro Staff - MACK'S-SHASTA TACKLE CO
    Pro Staff - SCOTTY FISHING
    Pro Staff - SHARK TROLLING PRODUCTS
    Pro-Staff - WATER WOLF HD CAMERAS
    Ambassador - Pro-Cure Bait Scents




  6. #14
    Senior Member ReelJerks's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    1,999
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: New Lowrance Elite 9 Ti2 Installed with Two Transducers...Why?

    What appears to have been done is the dealer installed a Ti2 unit with the transducer kit. The transducer kit consists of an HST-WSBL 2D transducer, the StructureScan HD transducer, brackets and a 'Y' cable. This gives you the options of SS, DS, or 2D views selectable through the unit. There is NO A-B switch. Maybe your installer thinks this setup is the same as using the AI 3 in 1 transducer....it is NOT.
    You should review your part # for the sonar to make sure you were not shipped the wrong product.

    I could not find the PN's you sent me in my cross-reference list.

    Edd
    Pro Staff - MACK'S-SHASTA TACKLE CO
    Pro Staff - SCOTTY FISHING
    Pro Staff - SHARK TROLLING PRODUCTS
    Pro-Staff - WATER WOLF HD CAMERAS
    Ambassador - Pro-Cure Bait Scents




  7. #13
    Senior Member Polebrother's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Brentwood
    Posts
    1,517
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: New Lowrance Elite 9 Ti2 Installed with Two Transducers...Why?

    Now looks like I have a 2 in 1 transducer instead of the 3 and 1. Was hard to find but one of the purchase options for the Lowrance Elite 9 Ti2 is the Active Imaging 2 in 1 transducer paired with a smaller transducer, an 83/200 kHz Transom Mount Skimmer with Temp (HST-WSBL). I wanted the 3 in 1 and so far Lowrance has not offered any details on when the paired 2 in 1 is more effective than the 3 in 1 that comes “stock” with the Ti2. I’m not a happy camper right now.


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

    In fishing, I throw myself away and find myself again and again.

  8. #12
    Senior Member Polebrother's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Brentwood
    Posts
    1,517
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: New Lowrance Elite 9 Ti2 Installed with Two Transducers...Why?

    Quote Originally Posted by OYD View Post
    Check the attached link. Evidently many have problems reading bottom when on plane with the 3 in 1 transducer so the second transducer (which reads better on plane) is installed via a "y" connector to compensate and allow for reading bottom at higher speeds. (I hope adding the link is not against board policy, but if it is removed, pm me for the link)
    http://www.bbcboards.net/showthread.php?t=954489
    Great input and advice, thank you! Link you recommended was very helpful.

    In fishing, I throw myself away and find myself again and again.

  9. #11
    Senior Member Polebrother's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Brentwood
    Posts
    1,517
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: New Lowrance Elite 9 Ti2 Installed with Two Transducers...Why?

    Quote Originally Posted by Seon View Post
    Yep, it appears to have 3 in 1 as well as a an HST-WSBL transducers.
    Should have an A/B switch to read each but not both at the same time, otherwise the echo may interfere with each other.
    I'd ask again if they charged extra for the HST-WSBL because IMO it shouldn't be needed.
    Thanks for your input Seon. There is no switch that allows me to select a specific transducer. I agree this could cause undue interference. Definitely going to follow up on why the second transducer was added without my blessing. Thanks to other inputs here, I now at least have a better understanding why the second transducer may be needed in special situations, but apparently not mine. Crunching numbers now to see if I paid for the additional transducer that I likely don’t need. Also begs the question, “Did my unit come straight out of the box?” Seems there is a strong likelihood it did not as Lowrance would not profit by adding extra transducers to a new box that may not be needed. This transaction has given me a dose of boater frustration. For example, during the FF install they removed my much needed paddle wheel without my approval then added a transducer I don’t need, it seems. One step forward, two steps back. Dang!

    In fishing, I throw myself away and find myself again and again.

  10. #10
    Senior Member Seon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Lake Camanche
    Posts
    5,365
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: New Lowrance Elite 9 Ti2 Installed with Two Transducers...Why?

    Yep, it appears to have 3 in 1 as well as a an HST-WSBL transducers.
    Should have an A/B switch to read each but not both at the same time, otherwise the echo may interfere with each other.
    I'd ask again if they charged extra for the HST-WSBL because IMO it shouldn't be needed.

  11. Likes Polebrother liked this post
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •