PDA

View Full Version : Rigging for halibut?

SLOfisher
06-09-2006, 08:23 PM
How do you guys rig up to drift for halibut? Friend of mine just got a new Trophy, and he want's to try drifting in the bay one day next week. I've never done this before, so I'm looking for any information that you think might be helpful.

Thanks.

bigworm
06-09-2006, 08:31 PM
Congrats to your buddy on his new boat. I bought its brother the striper. I was wondering the same. Where are you guys going to go? I heard SF Bay was good for the buts but where? Going to San Pablo Bay tomorrow but would rather be fishing for hali's ;)

SLOfisher
06-09-2006, 08:48 PM
Bigworm:

We're going to Morro Bay. We both live just on the other side of the bay in Los Osos, and wanted to get his boat in the water and check it out. We'd really like to try for some 'buts, however we're both new to that kind of fishing. They have been catching a few small ones in the bay, but if we don't have any luck there, we'll make a short run to the kelp beds and catch a mess of rockfish.

bigworm
06-09-2006, 08:56 PM
I thought you could'nt rockfish from the boat yet... your like me a rookie to the boat thing and rules? From shore its open all year from boats their are closures. I'll be out i think by treasure island - between both bays. trying a little striper, shark and hali action. Yeh, were rookies too but your not born natural fishermen... gotta work real hard all of the time as much as your girl will let you and the gas card can hold. :'(

keciga1
06-09-2006, 09:04 PM