PDA

View Full Version : Minimum boat requirement to safely fish the western delta (Martinez to Antioch)?

1Lhorn
03-19-2014, 10:40 AM
Hello, first time poster, long time lurker.

I've been looking for a small boat to fish local freshwater lakes (I live in Pleasanton) but would also like to be able to fish the delta since it's pretty close. As I am a boating beginner, I'm kinda requesting your opinion on what you see as the minimum boat that would be needed to safely fish the area between Martinez and Antioch. I've heard people make reference to there being risk of choppiness, etc. I would be somewhat selective about when I go but don't want to have to wait for the rare times when it's perfectly smooth either.

I want to stay a bit small because my tow vehicle has a 3500 tow capacity. I guess I've narrowed it down to a V-hull aluminum boat 12-16 feet in length. Does that sound big enough? There are always a ton on CL averaging about $1500 with a motor +/- trolling motor.
Stay away from jon boats and bass boats?

Thanks.

LURKER916
03-19-2014, 12:54 PM
Welcome!
If you haven't yet, try a kayak. If you are in ok shape and wanna real adventure your 1500 bucks can get you fully loaded on an awesome fishing kayak!
You won't be limited to fish anywhere, ocean, rivers, delta, lakes, etc.... Stay outa the aqueducts that's just illegal and insane in a kayak but other than that the sky's the limit.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

nayr
03-19-2014, 03:16 PM