PDA

View Full Version : Is there such thing as saltwater fishing lessons & are there any in Orange County?

JamiJR
03-19-2014, 08:51 PM
Since this isn't a boating question I didn't feel comfortable asking this in the saltwater forum. After several days debate I decided since I'm located in SoCal this was the best forum.

I live in Costa Mesa so I'm far closer to the ocean than freshwater. (And even the freshwater fishing around here is mostly paid lakes that I understand the fish taste terrible.)

I want to get into saltwater fishing but I find I'm not very good at it.

1: I'm used to only rigging for freshwater.

2: I really don't know what bait to use - I'm used to live bait like worms and night crawlers. I don't ever use lures simply because I've never had luck with them.

3: I can't do it from a boat - I get too violently seasick. And even if I could - well, it's just too expensive. While fishing from the shore, piers, and docks are free.

My oldest brother saltwater fishes, but he works for Disneyland and is simply too busy to teach me.

I thought maybe if there was classes offered or someone who did teaching for a relatively inexpensive price it would help. I learn much, much better seeing and doing than I do from books or videos alone. But my internet searches don't turn up anything except places like Davy's Locker - which is only about boat rental and fishing from boats.

And if there isn't, well, maybe my post would inspire some of you to start a side business teaching newbies in your spare time. That way you get paid to fish.

AnglingWes
03-20-2014, 05:45 AM
Many guides offer the type of "on the water training" that you are looking for. Some are very happy to show you rigging and tackle techniques while providing a more informative approach to guiding. Contact a couple who fish the areas and species you are interested in and tell them exactly what you are looking for. You will find the best training $200 can buy with the right guide.

JB14