PDA

View Full Version : Collins Lake questions

Diesel2052
07-16-2007, 09:20 PM
My family and I are going up to Collins lake this weekend and this is my first time there, anybody know about the water levels?

I am trying to choose between using my 12' aluminum or my 22 foot Cuddy Cabin boat which has a 18" draft.

How about trolling speeds up there is 3mph slow enough or should I be running slower?

I have seen pictures that they have docks there are they rented or first come first serve?

Thanks in advance for any advice.

StrokerAce
07-16-2007, 11:30 PM
Don't know about the docs. Its not a very big lake. I usually use my small Aluminum there. Try trolling the Dam and deeper areas this time of year with lead core/downriggers *at about 1.8-2.0 mph. The water is getting warm and the fish are getting more reluctant to want to chase bait. I have done the best at collins on gold or silver/blue decent size flashers with about a 24" leader trolling a red/orange double whammy wedding ring tipped with worm. Nailed em about a month ago even caught a nice brown on the backside of the lake. This time of year the name of the game is slow and low.

Sam..

cfish
07-17-2007, 09:03 AM
check collinslake.com for their weekly report. it should be updated today.

garrett_s
07-17-2007, 09:54 AM
i am pretty sure the boat slips can be reserved

fishinator
07-17-2007, 12:12 PM
I camped there a few months back an paid for a slip to keep my boat at the dock each night. ou can also dock it on shore for no charge- if you are close enough to keep an eye on your boat. Call for more info or check website.

fishinator

Diesel2052
07-18-2007, 12:46 PM