PDA

View Full Version : fireline, powerpro or pline on the 310?

kromebrite
10-28-2005, 06:15 PM
Going to load the Penn 310 with line(how about that!), wondering what you all think about the above choices. I have never used a braid before, big pline user. Willing to deviate, though ;)
Pairing the reel with the ugly stick tiger, medium action.Use will be sturgeon fishin :) mainly from a boat but I indeed on bringing this rig to the sturgy bash to break it in. Thoughts?

GN.
10-28-2005, 07:02 PM
I cast my vote for Power Pro. I have 50lb on my Tiger Stick and really like it. Also you will be amazed at the difference in sensativity and hookset compared with P-line.

See you at the bash.

JasonB
10-28-2005, 09:55 PM
Power Pro

PlugROCKSTAR
10-29-2005, 08:07 AM
Power Pro, Tuff Line XP if you can find it.

striper_assasin
10-29-2005, 09:19 AM
in my experiences the fireline is the strongest braid however it is a pretty stiff braid, the 50 pound and 80 pound line diameter is just to big and you wont get as much line spooled up on your reel as you will a thinner diameter line such as wipelash,tuffline,powerpro....however the 30 pound fireline has a small diameter i think its like14 pound diameter?.i personaly havent had good luck with the power pro,however other friends of mine that fish from a boat with powerpro love it and it has a small diameter i think 17 pound diameter for the 80 pound strength.i agree with 916 on the tuffline alot smoother of a line not very abrassive on the rod guides and strong.ive stopped using braid for sturgeon unless im on a boat.tossing big weights from a bank with braid weakins the knott considerably...just too much stress on the knott because there is no stretch.from a boat i would go with 80 pound tuffline or the 30 pound fireline.hope this helps.

STURGEONSTOMPER
10-29-2005, 11:39 AM