PDA

View Full Version : anchor and ropes



smithstation
08-25-2005, 12:00 PM
I fished about 20 years ago with an old man who used two anchor ropes. One was tied to the chain like normal and the other was tied down about 15 feet or so from where he tied the main line to the boat cleat. The main line was tied to the bow cleat and the second line (it was only about 20 feet long) was brought back to a rear or middle cleat. If I remember correctly ??? the boat never swayed in the wind. The current kept it strait and the extra short line was just tight enough to keep it from swinging.
Now, my question is, does anyone know if what I described is correct? Can you use one anchor and two ropes to keep the boat strait? Thanks!!

sunracer1957
08-25-2005, 02:09 PM
Never herd of this maybe Doc will come to the rescue with some info!!!

fence_man
08-25-2005, 03:43 PM
I anchor that way alot yes it does work great !!!

fishkiller
08-25-2005, 05:28 PM
8)It works if you dont have a windlass. 8)

smithstation
08-26-2005, 08:50 AM
Thanks, no windless here, I will try it next time I go out. I just was not sure if I remembered how to correctly hook things up.