PDA

View Full Version : Some Battery Questions

drift
08-05-2005, 03:06 PM
* I just picked up my first AGM battery from West Marine. I was wondering if it will harm the battery if I drain it more than 50% like it would a lead acid battery.

My battery says it has a discharge rate of 3% per month. Does this mean it loses 3% of its total amps and can never be regained, or can you recharge the 3% of power the battery discharged?

Thanks for the help!

GN.
08-05-2005, 11:51 PM
I'm not a battery expert, but I have some experience with AGM's. We use them at work in a deep cycle aplication. They seem to last a long time. I think that when they refer to 3% loss per month I believe they mean that if the battery sits unused for a month it will lose 3% of it's charge. It should recharge completly. Sometimes we store them for many months in our warehouse before using them and they seem to do fine. I assume that the battery you bought is for deep cycle use.

We buy Concorde AGM's from Advanced power products. Their website has some info that might be handy. Here is the link
http://www.advancedpowerproducts.com/

Tight lines

basil
08-06-2005, 07:49 PM
The battery loses 3% of its total charge a month. Batteries like to be charged all the time. Buy yourself a nice little trickle charger that charges about 1.5 amps to 2 amps. Whenever you don't use the boat plug it in. It won't build up a charge but it will help keep your battery in good shape.

If you really want to get fancy buy a three phase charger. The first phase basically charges like heck and builds up a charge in the battery fast. The second phase kicks in when the first phase gets the battery 80% charged. The first phase can't charge any more than that because it overheats the battery and a hot battery holds less charge. The second phase charge is smaller and slower and gets the battery up to 100%. Then the third phase kicks in, a trickle charge that maintains the battery.