PDA

View Full Version : Downrigger location once the best way?

willbilly
07-17-2005, 08:36 AM
I am wanting your input and experience to correctly locate a mounting location for an electric downrigger on a 12 fiberglass boat.

I have not purchased the unit so I can go with any boom length or style at this point.

This is a Boston Whaler style boat, so it is very stable but also almost dangerously, very low to the water in the back, mostly from the 4-stroke and my weight.
The front of the boat could use a little more weight and does well with two or three adults onboard, which is not the case as I fish alone most of the time.

I could build my own mount most anywhere in the boat. I feel more to the front is better if the weight hangs up however, I am aware that puts the line more in line with the motor and sides.

So hopefully someone can give me some help I am new to boating and need all the help I can get.

Willbilly*

Oxbow
07-17-2005, 02:23 PM
It's almost an individual thing depending on the configuration of the boat. When I had a fiberglass boat, I built a small mounting bracket of welded aluminum so that I could attach the mount to the floor rather than drill through the fiberglass (this boat was not designed for fishing) and then attached the downrigger to the top of the mount. Just a thought for what it's worth, good luck!

skipper
07-17-2005, 02:35 PM