PDA

View Full Version : Salmon fishing off the Piers?

Collegebound
07-22-2005, 01:12 PM
What kind of rods and reels is everybody using to fish for salmon of the piers like pacifica and benecia?
Party boat fishing is getting to be too expensive ;D

I assume most people use a mooching rod, but please correct me if I'm wrong. Any personal suggestions or prefered rigs?
Thanks

14_blast
07-22-2005, 03:47 PM
I would use a 12' surf casting reel and rod. I would prefer a spinning reel since I'm not that good with a casting reel. You could probably find an inexpensive rod/reel combo in the Bass Pro Catalogue. If you want to spend $$$'s, there's always Lamiglas, G-Loomis, and Rogue Rods....and the high end shimano spinning reels.

Good luck with your choice.

blue_chrush
07-22-2005, 11:19 PM
at the pacifica pier get a 12ftr and buy the biggest
piece of crap one you can get your hands on....also a
hoop ring crab net with at least 60ft of line...why??
cause on the piers you have to learn to cast over the '
rail under hand and use a float rig with a slider and
bait...and then you have to lower your net to get your
fish...and if you think someones going to help you, you
better know how to make friends in a gun battle....cause
out there its like everyone for themselfs.....welcome to a
whole new world of fishing fun.....good luck :'( :-/ ;) :)

it can be a rough crowd on a good weekend.....

Double_D
07-23-2005, 03:39 AM
at the pacifica pier get a 12ftr and buy the biggest
piece of crap one you can get your hands on....also a
hoop ring crab net with at least 60ft of line...why??
cause on the piers you have to learn to cast over the '
rail under hand and use a float rig with a slider and
bait...and then you have to lower your net to get your
fish...and if you think someones going to help you, you
better know how to make friends in a gun battle....cause
out there its like everyone for themselfs.....welcome to a
whole new world of fishing fun.....good luck :'( :-/ ;) :)