PDA

View Full Version : HMB Jetty question

nateb
09-04-2008, 12:04 AM
Iím going to be hitting up the north jetty this weekend and as I have said in previous posts, I am an amateur in jetty fishing. I know most fish are just a few feet off the jetty and for those I like to keep the rod in my hands at all times, but would I have any luck launching out and soaking a high low rig? I am guessing I would have to deal with some nasty snags and kelp not to mention the occasional crab, but if there is an opportunity for a hookup I am all for it! Any help or guidance is appreciated!

philosophy
09-04-2008, 02:03 PM
ive been there about 3-4 times now been getting skunked when soaking bait and throwing swimbaits into the rocks. I went to the end of the south a caught a bunch of kingfish. I'm thinking about going this weekend and throwing some weightless switbaits into the rocks. I lost about 4 to 5 big hammers last saturday when throwing into the rocks. i might be doing something wrong. so im pretty much in the same boat as your are. i know theres fish about i think we need to just know how to sucessfully fish the jetty. let me know if you want to rock this saturday

MB_Kevin
09-04-2008, 07:29 PM
I'm still not sure if you are allowed to use 2 rods on the jetty. I think it would be considered a pier and 2 rods OK and fishing without a license but have never figured out if I was correct on that. If so I would throw a high low rig out while doing what ever other fishing I decided to do in the area. If anyone knows if this is OK please post up.

I have fished it with a hi-low rig before without much luck but I would still like to have it out while poke poling or casting lures.

nateb
09-04-2008, 10:46 PM
Master, you are dead on with my thoughts! *Two rods are always better than one, and i do have the two rod sticker. *Just wanna make sure it is both legal and worth it.

EDIT: Phil, thanks for the offer, ill let you know if i do end up going out!

vinhle68
09-05-2008, 02:58 PM