PDA

View Full Version : Need advice on side planers

Lil_Richy
02-05-2009, 03:17 PM
I have never used a side planer before but was wanting to give them a try. Any advice or recommendations as to brands and types would be appreciated.Also, are there any tricks to using them?
Thanks for the help!
Rich

FISHERWALLY
02-05-2009, 03:37 PM
Send a pm to kevin (slapabow) he seems to have it dialed in on the planers.

john ;)

Dblhkup
02-05-2009, 03:38 PM
Reeltor and myself started using them a few weeks back. *Seps makes a good light one. $15. The neat trick on the Seps unit is that it has a spring loaded center piece that you can change that puts it either to port or starbord sides. *I have not caught a fish off of it yet though! >:( *Only have tried it once so far. *I am concerned about the additional drag it will create when you have a fish on. *The point of the side planner is to get your line out of the boats wake and up next to the shore line where they might be fish. *I also have tried a styrofoam unit that is bigger and heavier and only goes to port or starbord. *Don't recall the brand, but it is more difficult to use. *
I would like to hear from others on the drag issue and if anyone has has sucess using a side planner.

okie
02-05-2009, 03:57 PM
i havent got 1 yet, but i am under the impression that there is a clip on the planer that releases the line when you get a strike like on a downrigger, with the planer you need an extra line to hold the planer.
i could be wrong, i have been once or thrice

rodney_rich
02-05-2009, 04:02 PM
sounds like a good idea but I have yet to try one, any more info on them would help. do you need 2 lines? :)

Slapabow
02-05-2009, 04:36 PM
Thanks FW, but Ironhead is the man ;)

kayakfisherman
02-05-2009, 04:49 PM