PDA

View Full Version : packer lake

dinos marine
08-17-2008, 04:16 PM
i just got back from a week at packer lake. the fishing was excellent, c/r 50-60 fish per day. the water was slighly warm, but the fish were on the surface for most of the day. best fishing occured at dawn and dusk. the rainbows avg 12". i did not fish all day, mostly mornings and evenings.

now the strange thing, thur, we saw 30 or so brookies (some nice ones too) swimming at the inlet with thier bodies out of the water. it seemed that they were infected with a fungus. by late afternoon, we had dozens of brookies dead around the lake. i left saturday, but there were dozens of dead brookies around the lake daily. my question, was the lake too warm, and caused the fish to get the fungus? we saw a few rainbows as well. it was a pitiful site to see. we had a fish die off about ten years ago.

i have been fishing the area for about 22 years, but never saw anything that radical. we also spotted alot of large pollywogs in sardine lake (hundreds in the shallows).
:-?

GOLDENTROUT
08-17-2008, 09:00 PM
I was on a hike near Packer lake today and stopped by and saw all the dead brokies. Strange :-? I think your right about the temp and the north end is full of crap too. I also saw four Osprey's catching fish non stop. It was cool the two big ones (one from each pair) keep warning each other with calls and swoops.

dinos marine
08-17-2008, 09:26 PM
forgot to mention, the bald eagle this year. it came out at dawn, would swoop down for a fish, and then leave. would give another flyby around 730a or so. pretty cool.

Mackattack
08-17-2008, 09:55 PM
Packer Lake is not that big and I would guess shallow also. So do you think maybe a fresh stock of brooks that could not adjust to the new pool they were dropped into ?

Mackattack

dinos marine
08-17-2008, 10:36 PM