PDA

View Full Version : putah creek fishing

zach93
07-15-2007, 10:01 AM
Hi, I am new to fishing the putah creek area and need some help on what to use for bait.
I have a float tube.
Any info on where to start fishing or what to use as bait.
Any help would be apriciated.

Thanks,
Zach

zach93
07-18-2007, 10:28 AM
anybody have any help

KISSAFISH50
07-18-2007, 11:43 AM
Zach,
You say you have a tube, are you fly fishing or chucking lures?

I fish solano lake fairly often and you could float it. Kastmasters
and panther martins are my lures of choice here. If your using bait
worms and power bait both work, with worms you may get a surprise
every once in a while ( cat fish or smallie).
hope this helps, be more specific on what you want to know and
you will probably get more responces.
oh the good old wooly bugger catches fish here also

zach93
07-18-2007, 01:38 PM
I am using a spining reel and got a caddis float tube.
I went last week with no luck I was fishing a threaded worm on a sliding sinker rig with a 2 foot leader.
I am heading out tomorrow to do some fishing what color of kastmaster and panther martin should I use.

Thanks,
Zach

KISSAFISH50
07-18-2007, 01:49 PM
ZACH.
* *I use a gold or gold/orange kastmaster and a black w/yellow dots or a silver panther martin. you might try rainbow power bait also that always seems to work. I hope you are going really early or late in *the afternoon. good luck and post results.

fikevinb
07-19-2007, 07:19 AM
Zach-

Up by the dam floating eggs works, the panther martin black body yellow spots or yellow body red spots both work. I prefer a small Silver blue fox down from the dam, just head about 5 miles up from winters, pull over and hike down......Watch out for poison oak...Good Luck

kb

zach93
07-19-2007, 08:28 PM