PDA

View Full Version : Questions about Beaver Creek...?

FlyMonkey
07-03-2007, 08:59 AM
I'm new to fishing in this area and would like to do a little fly fishing at Beaver Creek. Does anyone have any recommendations on where to go on it? Is it even worth it with current flows (i read that they just did a trout plant, so the trout must exist SOMEWHERE on the creek).

I'm completely unfamiliar with it and the area, so I'm not sure what to expect. Any and all information would be helpful!

I'm thinking of going via Boards Crossing over N. Stanislaus. Is this a good plan?

Thanks much.. And this is my first post on Fish Sniffer.. Great site!!!

Rick

bankerbull
07-03-2007, 09:07 AM
where is beaver creek sir...?? thanks steve

Mackattack
07-03-2007, 09:18 AM
Yes that is a way togo but instead of going over Boards Crossing keep going strait all the way down the paved road to Sour Grass bridge. Keep on that road all the way to Beaver Creek. The flow is usually low there. If you go into Big Trees State Park Main entrance you can take that road also.

Mackattack.
P.S. Beaver Creek is located off Hy 4 in Dorrington which is just above Arnold.

FlyMonkey
07-03-2007, 09:23 AM
Thanks for the quick replies (gotta love this board!).

Is Beaver Creek big enough to get into w/ waders and work a fly rod? Or is it really tight?

I'll try the Sour Grass bridge way. Thanks for the suggestion. My only knowledge of the area is Google maps/satellite and a few maps on this website and elsewhere. Hard to know what is the best approach.

p.s. Is there a fee to enter through Big Trees State Park?

reeltor
07-03-2007, 10:59 AM
Hey, FM- give a call to Ebbetts Pass Sporting Goods in Arnold 209.795.1686 and they can give you the latest on Beaver Creek and surrounding streams. Yes, there is a charge for entering thru Calaveras Big Trees State Park ($6 for day use, I believe). Good luck and tight lines!

Reeltor

n2trout
07-03-2007, 11:05 AM