PDA

View Full Version : Trolling "superline" and spooking trout?

troutboy
01-15-2007, 11:50 AM
I've been trolling with fireline for many years now. I like the fact that if I get hung up on something I can usually get my gear back. I also like the fact that it has no stretch for good hookset and sensitivity (esp when you have 100 feet of line behind you). I normally run a 4lb floro leader to my lure (usually about 2-3 feet long).

I'm wondering. Has anyone ever trolled both braided (or fusion) line and had another rod troll mono and compared the difference in number of bites and also % of hookups?

I saw that Berkley has a new product which is a clear superbraid and I'm wondering if I should try it out. My fear is that even with 3 feet of Floro my main line may still spook fish i'm passing over......

drstressor
01-15-2007, 11:53 AM
I've never done a comparison, but since I use 33 to 60 ft of fluoro leader, I doubt that there would be any difference.

troutfan
01-15-2007, 12:09 PM
I have also been using Fireline for years and really like it for the no stretch and strength/diameter ratio. I use 50-100' of fluorocarbon so as not to spook any fish, when trolling. *I wouldn't use any other line when downrigging because braid has very little if any memory. *Another good point of Fireline is that you can tie it directly to mono/Flouro with very high knot strength. *Spider wire for instance is much more abrasive and cannot be tied directly to mono. *I make up the extra cost for Fireline because it lasts alot longer than Mono when using downriggers.

metalmouth
01-15-2007, 12:28 PM
I run Stren Braid on my trolling reels with a top shot of mono. For Huge fish I run Tuff Line XP. I will never go back to using the smaller test Fluoro's again. It cost me too many big fish. *:'(

Pyramid_Kid
01-15-2007, 01:32 PM