PDA

View Full Version : Trout trolling Rod and Reel

fishn_sonora
03-27-2006, 11:19 AM
any suggestions for a rod and reel combo for trolling for trout

kidfish
03-27-2006, 11:56 AM
Vance's 7/6 kok rod with Daiwa SG17LCA sweet!

GoneCountry
03-27-2006, 12:11 PM
Im not a expert but this is what I do. If your down riggen then light rods are in order and I would go with spinning reel . A good one. set the drag as needed. Now I dont have a downrigger yet. So I use a garcia mitchel 808 with 4 ft boat rods that are very flexable. I also use a rubber snubber to help absorb that action. Drag is also set....Test line for the flashers is about 15lb. Then some 12 lb for the leader. I very rarely loose fish with this setup. The only problem is knowing how deep I am actually getting. The weight I use every year seems to be right on the money as I limit out daily at that time of year at that particular lake. I could use lead core line but Its expensive and throws me off on depth....I cant wait to pick up a downrigger and learn to consistant at knowing where my lures depth is actually at.

AllFishNoWork
03-27-2006, 12:11 PM
The Vances Rods are indeed sweet. For general purpose trout trolling in this area I use an Ugly Stick with the Diawa Firewolf. A good set up that can be had for under $100.

Capt.Ken
03-27-2006, 12:43 PM
For the past few years I have been using the GLoomis rods model #844c this is a 7' rod with medium action, fast tip, line weight 8-17#. I like the Abu Garcia 5501C4 with this rod. This outfit is light weight but yet capable of landing big macs with plenty of backbone.

greengoop
03-27-2006, 02:02 PM