PDA

View Full Version : Any opinions or advice on handheld gps unit

CRABBY
03-30-2010, 04:31 PM
Looking for advice or opinions for a handheld GPS unit for back up on boat,mainly need speed.Thanks Don

Dennis
03-30-2010, 05:42 PM
I have an old Lowrance iFinder. I never did like it mainly because the screen is too small. Having stated that, you might look at screen size as one of the primary deciding points. Battery life is also an important consideration. Sorry I couldn't be more help. Good luck.

alexbui
03-30-2010, 07:04 PM
I have a Garmin Colorado 400C mount onto a Ram-Mount w/ suction and I love all the unit's features except at very low speed or drifting, it's a bit tough back tracking to the waypoints unless you speed up. I was told to calibrate the unit. Give Garmin website a visit. I hope that helps.

OYD
03-30-2010, 07:18 PM
For just speed, I have been using the cheapest model Garmen E-Trex for 10 years. Sometimes you can find them as cheap as $79. Battery life is very good since it is b&w, but since it is only used for speed, that is not an isssue.

CRABBY
03-30-2010, 08:05 PM
Thanks Lone Angler,Thats pretty much I want,I think ( GPS ground speed) have a gps FF an a reg.FF just need a back up speed indicator incase my gps go's out again,or may just get another gps unit for rear of boat,the more I ck into these handheld units the more I like em,looked at Garmin an they are nice.Don

Reel Fun
03-31-2010, 07:19 AM
Looking for advice or opinions for a handheld GPS unit for back up on boat,mainly need speed.Thanks Don

" I feel the need...The need for speed" ( can anyone gues that quote? ) Don....what unit do you have now that your worried it might go out??

RF

old sea ranger
03-31-2010, 01:59 PM
I have a Lowrance H2Oc. All well work but the Lowrance can use your cards from your fish finder. It's nice to take it along on your buddies boat and plot your trip and waypoints. The new Lowrance uses micro SD cards and you have a old Nautic Path card it won't fit.