PDA

View Full Version : How to set up line for halibut???

quitworktofish
05-21-2011, 10:46 AM
hello im new to halibut fishing was wondering what ways to set up hook for halibut?? live? lure? what kind of lures?

fishyman
05-22-2011, 03:32 AM
To set up a drift rig for halibut, you first tie a snap-swivel to the end of your leader. Then you tie a dropper loop with another snap-swivel several inches above the original snap swivel. Finally, you add a length of line with a glow-in-the-dark grub threaded on, followed by a circle hook, on the end to the snap swivel on the dropper loop. To fish, you place a sinker(6 ounces or so) on the end of your leader on the snap. Then you nose-hook an anchovie on the hook and drop it into the water. When the fish bites, it will hook itself. Make sure the anchovie is alive the whole time!

For an alternative, use a three way swivel.

Good luck!
:fishing1:

Barleycorn
05-26-2011, 07:17 AM
I like a 3 way swivel setup with a torpedo sinker as it will track better than other weights.

sturgeonhunter
05-26-2011, 11:36 AM
I use a 3 - way swivel with a 3 - 4' leader with a 2/0 live bait hook,hook anchovy through

lower lip up through nose attach a dropper from 3 - way swivel about 1' or so but not much

more than that with a torpedo weight or ball weight ( weight depends on current and drift )

anchovy livelyier the better

Seon
05-26-2011, 04:17 PM
White Cap and I just returned from "Butt" trolling in the SF Bay.

This was our first try at it since back in the 70's file:///C:/DOCUME%7E1/PAPAPC%7E1/LOCALS%7E1/Temp/msoclip1/01/clip_image001.gif. Al will probably post our day's outing later.

So in preparation on how to rig our bait, we both searched the net then cut and pasted what we gathered. The set-up was correct but the line weight was not.

At any event, my suggestion is to use 100# leader from the 3-way swivel to the bait and a 50# drop line to the sinker that prevents the two lines from twisting together.