PDA

View Full Version : Lower Klamath opener

delta916
10-14-2011, 10:30 AM
Had a great opener last saturday at the Lower Klamath fields. Three of us shot 18 specks on saturday and another 9 on sunday. My 11 year old son got his first goose on saturday. That was it for him for the weekend but he was excited to go and get his first bird.

hanahou7
10-20-2011, 09:33 AM
Great post! I am new to hunting and am looking to get out for my first time sometime next month. Do you have any tips or recommendations?

Also, are reservations required for all public lands, or just for certain areas, like the Sacramento NWR?

Thanks!

delta916
10-23-2011, 11:21 AM
The tips and reccommendations could be endless for someone who has never hunted before. I will start with reservations. They make life easier if you can get one but are not absolutley neccessary to get in. You can apply for reservations on the DFG website. If/when you don't get drawn you can apply for the lottery at Sacramento, colusa, or delevan the night before the hunt. Details on how to do that can be found on the Sacramento NWR website. Most of the other state wildlife refuges are first com/ first serve for the sweat line. Yolo and Little dry Creek are exceptions for this, they both do lotteries the night before. I would reccomend for any newb to start with afternoon hunts to the area you think you will hunt the most. That way you have light and can learn the lay of the land before venturing off into the dark. Feel freee to ask more questions but try to be specific. Most folks like myself who have hunted the refuge system for a while could write a book on all of the little things that help to find the birds. Good luck and welcome to the world of waterfowling.

tonsofun
10-24-2011, 11:25 AM