PDA

View Full Version : Del Valle and Los Vaqueros Trout fishing

tbruski
11-27-2011, 07:25 PM
I have been fishing @ Los Vaqueros for the last 4 years on a regular basis. I have been reading a lot about Del Valle and have only been out there once. There are some interesting comparisons. The water supply for both as I understand comes from the Delta and does not have any system to keep fish from entering, that is why there are stripers in both reservoirs.

4 years ago when we first started fishing @ L.V. we were catching a lot of trout and some bass and a few salmon. We would catch an occasional shaker striper when trolling with night crawlers. 2 years ago the DFG for some reason (L.V. was not on the no plant list) but they stopped planting and the only plants were coming every other week from Calaveras. The Calaveras trout were all the same size, about 1.5 lbs. On the day of the plant the top water bass guys would come out in the evening and cast into the striper boils as they were feasting on the plant and catch some nice ones. The fishing for trout would be good for about 2 days then die out til the next plant.